HNR Issue 76 (May 2016)

Daughter of Albion

By Ilka Tampke - Published 2015

Genres:

Set in Southwest Britain in A.D. 28, this is the story of Ailia, a foundling left on the doorstep of the Tribequeens’s ...Read Review

Ashes to Ashes: The Chronicles of Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon, Book 8

By Mel Starr - Published 2015

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

England, 1369. Surgeon Hugh de Singleton, bailiff of Bampton, is summoned to examine human remains—bones—discovered in the ashes of the St. John’...Read Review

Fortune’s Whelp

By Benerson Little - Published 2015

Genres:

AdventureNautical

In 1695, Scotsman Edward MacNaughton, former buccaneer captain, pirate, and fencing master, is on a mission in Ireland, delivering important letters from Lord Deigle ...Read Review

HMS Prometheus

By Alaric Bond - Published 2016

Genres:

AdventureNautical

Bond delivers another fast-paced, high-impact piece of Napoleonic-era naval fiction with HMS Prometheus, eighth in his Fighting Sails series. In the western Mediterranean ...Read Review

Rochester Knockings: A Novel of the Fox Sisters

By Hubert Haddad - Published 2016

Genres:

Literary

In a laudable project for the University of Rochester’s press, Haddad combines high literary style and unity of effect in this believable ...Read Review

For You Were Strangers: A Hanley & Rivka Mystery

By D.M. Pirrone - Published 2016

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

In For You Were Strangers, D. M. Pirrone continues the budding romance of Chicago Police Detective Frank Hanley and Rivka Kelmansky started in ...Read Review

Even the Dead: A Quirke Novel

By Benjamin Black - Published 2015Published 2016

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

Inspector Quirke is back in Benjamin Black’s latest, and he picks up with Quirke recuperating at his adoptive brother and sister-in-law’s ...Read Review

Between Here and Gone

By Barbara Ferrer - Published 2016

Genres:

When Fidel Castro seized control of Cuba, the affluent Natalia San Martin fled to America with her family in the wake of personal ...Read Review

Hard Red Spring

By Kelly Kerney - Published 2016

Genres:

EpicLiterary

An epic historical novel in the tradition of Norman Mailer and Ken Follett. Chronicling nearly a century of American involvement in Guatemala, Hard ...Read Review

Miller’s Valley

By Anna Quindlen - Published 2016

Genres:

The latest novel from bestselling author and stellar columnist Anna Quindlen, Miller’s Valley begins in the 1960s, when protagonist Mimi Miller is ...Read Review

1 2 3 34