The HNS seeks to support writers of new historical fiction by the Historical Novel Society Awards.

New Novel Award

We ran this award in 2013/4 and 2015/6 – an award for a previously unpublished and currently un-agented historical novel. We will announce a third award in 2017.

The 2013 Award was won by Martin Sutton for Lost Paradise. He subsequently won the Winston Graham Prize 2016 after the novel was published by the Historical Novel Society.

The 2015 Award was won by Cam Terwilliger. One of our runners up, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott, subsequently signed a 6-figure deal with Hutchinson to publish her debut Swan Song.

Short Story Award

We ran this award in 2014 and will announce a second award in 2017

The 2014 Award was won by Anne Aylor for The House of Wild Beasts

Indie Award

We ran this award in 2014, 2015 and 2016. We will not be running an award specifically for Indies in future for these reasons. We apologise to those caught between our systems, who had been long-listed for a 2017 award that we are no longer offering.

The 2014 Award was won by Virginia Cox for The Subtlest Soul.

The 2015 Award was won by Anna Belfrage for Revenge and Retribution.

The 2016 Award was jointly won by Lucienne Boyce for Bloodie Bones and Barbara Sjoholm for Fossil Island.