Ecco

The Valley of Amazement

By Amy Tan - Published 2013

Genres:

Literary

If you are interested in immersing yourself in the elaborate culture of the Chinese courtesan’s life of the early 20th century, then ...Read Review

The Story of the Jews: Finding the Words, 1000 BCE-1492 CE

By Simon Schama - Published 2013Published 2014

Genres:

Nonfiction

This elegant history is, in the author’s words, ‘one of the heroism of everyday life as much as that of the grand ...Read Review

The Enchanted Life of Adam Hope

By Rhonda Riley - Published 2013

Genres:

FantasySaga

Evelyn Roe is a teenage girl working on her family farm in North Carolina towards the end of the Second World War. She ...Read Review

Alone Together: My Life with J. Paul Getty

By Digby Diehl - By Theodora Getty Gaston - Published 2013

Genres:

Nonfiction

Society girl turned torch singer Teddy Getty’s memoir of life with billionaire J. Paul Getty is a who’s who of the 1930...Read Review

The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells

By Andrew Sean Greer - Published 2013

Genres:

Fantasy

Following in the tradition of The Confessions of Max Tivoli, Andrew Sean Greer returns to a tale of the impossible and magical, set ...Read Review

The Son

By Philipp Meyer - Published 2013

Genres:

LiterarySagaWestern

As its page count implies, this is a behemoth of a book. And I devoured it in just a few days. Spanning over ...Read Review

Southern Cross the Dog

By Bill Cheng - Published 2013

Genres:

Cheng’s impressive debut is a journey along the back roads of Southern history, at a time—the ‘20s and ‘30s—when it ...Read Review

The Colour of Milk

By Nell Leyshon - Published 2012Published 2013

Genres:

“the story begins in the year of eighteen hundred and thirty. the years are of the lord.” And so begins the story of ...Read Review

The Accursed

By Joyce Carol Oates - Published 2013

Genres:

LiteraryThriller

Princeton, 1905. President (of the university, not yet the US) Woodrow Wilson works up to apoplexy in his Herculean struggle against the dean of ...Read Review

The Stockholm Octavo

By Karen Engelmann - Published 2012

Genres:

The Stockholm Octavo is set in 18th-century Stockholm against the background of the last years of Sweden’s Golden Age and the spread ...Read Review