The English Agent

By

It is World War II, and the struggle continues across Europe. Edie has suffered along with countless others in the Blitz; however, her experiences inspire her to accept the chance to work for the Special Operations Executive and to be parachuted behind enemy lines into Occupied France. It is not a huge surprise when she is captured, as she makes elementary errors such as grammatical mistakes with French and she also speaks English inadvertently in a public place. This suspension of disbelief is also required when Edie does not include her security code when she transmits to HQ while a prisoner, but no one in authority seems to feel that this might be a problem.

The narrative focus changes from Edie to Vera Atkins, the officer responsible for sending the women out to France. She has her own problems and many secrets to keep hidden. She desperately needs to become a naturalised British citizen for her own security and for the marriage she desires. The story moves along quickly and the characters are well-drawn and interesting. The romance element is again perhaps unlikely, but the reader by this point cares enough about the characters to want them to be happy in the end. A solid holiday read with a perennially fascinating and dramatic setting. Fans of Dilly Court and Nora Roberts will be very happy.

Share this review
Details

Publisher

Published

Period

Century

Price
(UK) £7.99

ISBN
(UK) 9781471150579

Format
Paperback

Pages
385

Review

Appeared in

Reviewed by