Reviews

Reviews of some 15,000 historical fiction books

The Third Corner

By J. L. Abbott - Published 2002

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

In the years during and following the American Civil War, a secret government agency called Dark Watch protected the nation’s interests. In 1871, ...Read Review

Seraglio

By Janet Wallach - Published 2003

Genres:

Biographical FictionEpic

In 1788, Algerian pirates kidnapped Aimée du Buc de Rivery, a thirteen-year-old girl on her way home to Martinique from school in France. ...Read Review

Leonora: Tulips in Winter

By Regina Pounds - Published 2002

Genres:

Romance

In 1788, a feisty English damsel named Leonora encounters two Russian noblemen in France, and then in the Duchy of Nassau. One of the ...Read Review

Touch and Go

By C. Northcote Parkinson - Published 2003

Genres:

AdventureNautical

Parkinson’s Richard Delancey has been promoted to command H.M.S. Merlin in his fourth adventure of the series. Delancey serves in 1799 ...Read Review

Between Two Fires

By Nicholas Nicastro - Published 2002

Genres:

Biographical FictionNauticalSaga

This second volume of a trilogy on the life of the American naval hero, John Paul Jones, starts with his commission to the ...Read Review

The Private Revolution of Geoffrey Frost

By J.E. Fender - Published 2002

Genres:

AdventureNautical

Fans of Patrick O’Brian and C.S. Forester will find much to admire in this historical novel, set in 1776 on the coast ...Read Review

Sparrowhawk: Book Two, Hugh Kenrick

By Edward Cline - Published 2002

Genres:

Adventure

In this second novel of a series, the reader is introduced to Hugh Kenrick, a young man born into high society – but this ...Read Review

Into the Valley

By Rosanne Bittner - Published 2003

Genres:

RomanceSaga

This second novel in Rosanne Bittner’s Westward America series (after Into the Wilderness) carries the reader back to the turbulent days of ...Read Review

The Voyage of The Destiny

By Robert Nye - Published 2003

Genres:

Biographical Fiction

  This fictional journal of Sir Walter Raleigh’s last year (1618) also serves as his attempt at self-justification while struggling against an inevitable ...Read Review

Prince of Foxes

By Samuel Shellabarger - Published 2002

Genres:

RomanceSagaThriller

Renaissance Italy is a crazy-quilt of independent city-states; a hotbed of intrigue – and no family epitomizes the era more than the notorious Borgias. ...Read Review