Shannon Gallagher

The Mourning Bells: A Lady of Ashes Mystery

By Christine Trent - Published 2015



The Mourning Bells is the fourth installment in the Lady of Ashes series but easily stands on its own. The familiar Violet Harper, ...Read Review

The Anchoress

By Robin Cadwallader - Published 2015


The medieval anchoress chose to be enclosed within a cell attached to the outer wall of a church. She willingly participated in the ...Read Review

Marie-Antoinette and Count Fersen: The Untold Love Story

By Evelyn Farr - Published 2015



In this revised and expanded edition of her acclaimed study, Evelyn Farr introduces new evidence in her continued efforts to reveal the depth ...Read Review

X: A Novel

By Ilyasah Shabazz - By Kekla Magoon - Published 2015


Biographical FictionChildren/Young Adult

Malcolm X is one of the most misunderstood and maligned figures of the 20th century. X: A Novel takes us from his childhood ...Read Review

The Lady of the Castle

By Iny Lorentz - By Lee Chadeayne (trans.) - Published 2015


This is the second installment in the Marie series, written by a husband and wife known by the pen name Iny Lorentz. I ...Read Review

Shadow of the Raven

By Tessa Harris - Published 2014



Set in 18th-century England, this is a historical mystery wrapped in a romance, which is most likely a familiar theme for regular readers ...Read Review

Or Forever Be Damned

By C.S. Burrough - Published 2014


Once, not so long ago, a little island nation ruled over an empire on which the sun never set. This is a simple ...Read Review

Secret of a Thousand Beauties

By Mingmei Yip - Published 2014


Set in 1930s China, Secret of a Thousand Beauties traces the life of a young woman, Spring Swallow, in what seems one tragedy ...Read Review

The Secrets of Life and Death

By Rebecca Alexander - Published 2014



The Secrets of Life and Death begins with the meeting of the Elizabethan scholar and alchemist, Dr. John Dee, and Countess Elisabeth Bathory, ...Read Review

City of Ladies: The Cross and the Crown, Book Two

By Sarah Kennedy - Published 2014



Sarah Kennedy’s second novel follows the lives of the former sisters of Mount Grace after the Dissolution of the Monasteries. Catherine returns ...Read Review