Kristen McDermott

The Kingdom of Back

By Marie Lu - Published 2020

Genres:

Children/Young Adult

Maria Anna, Nannerl to her family, lives a constricted life with her little brother Woferl, both practicing the harpsichord and violin many hours ...Read Review

Death and the Maiden (Mistress of the Art of Death)

By Ariana Franklin - By Samantha Norman - Published 2020

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

Readers who adored the captivating Mistress of the Art of Death series written by Ariana Franklin (pen name of prolific historical novelist Diana ...Read Review

The Kitchen Front: A Novel

By Jennifer Ryan - Published 2021

Genres:

Saga

This warm hug of a novel, by the author of The Chilbury Ladies Choir, depicts the power of community in the face of ...Read Review

The Dead of Winter

By S. J. Parris - Published 2020

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

Fans of Parris’s successful series of mysteries starring the Renaissance scholar and mystic Giordano Bruno will welcome this trio of stories exploring ...Read Review

The Unfinished Land

By Greg Bear - Published 2021

Genres:

Historical Fantasy

Bear is a celebrated fantasy/SF author who brings his considerable world-building skills to this alternative version of Renaissance England. The narrative begins ...Read Review

The Company Daughters

By Samantha Rajaram - Published 2020

Genres:

This radiant debut novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist and Girl with a Pearl Earring. Two young women of 1620s Amsterdam, ...Read Review

Fallen Angel (Frances Gorges Historical Trilogy)

By Tracy Borman - Published 2020

Genres:

About a year after the closing events of the second book (The Devil’s Slave) in the Frances Gorges trilogy, Borman’s heroine ...Read Review

Magic Lessons

By Alice Hoffman - Published 2020

Genres:

Hoffman previously revisited the beloved world and characters she created for the blockbuster hit Practical Magic when she gave readers the life stories ...Read Review

Payback: A Novel

By Mary Gordon - Published 2020

Genres:

Literary

Author/memoirist Gordon’s award-winning fiction often focuses on generational tensions and damage, and particularly the fraught relationships between mothers and daughters. She ...Read Review

Etiquette for Runaways

By Liza Nash Taylor - Published 2020

Genres:

Taylor chooses two iconic Jazz-Age settings—New York and Paris—for this roller-coaster of a historical novel. May Valentine Marshall is a girl ...Read Review

1 2 3 10