Kristen McDermott

Our Woman in Moscow

By Beatriz Williams - Published 2021

Genres:

AdventureThriller

Williams has a gift for taking time-honored romance tropes – doomed love affairs, rebellious ingenues, disillusioned spouses, louche aristocrats, pretend husbands – and giving them ...Read Review

Better Luck Next Time

By Julia Claiborne Johnson - Published 2021

Genres:

This clever evocation of Hollywood screwball comedies has “soon to be a major motion picture” written all over it, and if Tom Hanks ...Read Review

The Last Night in London

By Karen White - Published 2021

Genres:

Saga

White’s Southern novels are beloved bestsellers, and in this historical outing, she introduces a refugee from the close-knit Walton, Georgia community she ...Read Review

Water Sight (Last of the Gifted)

By Marie Powell - Published 2020

Genres:

Children/Young Adult

Powell’s Last of the Gifted series covers a slice of history already immortalized in Sharon Kay Penman’s Welsh Trilogy and Edith ...Read Review

The Kingdom of Back

By Marie Lu - Published 2020

Genres:

Children/Young Adult

Maria Anna, Nannerl to her family, lives a constricted life with her little brother Woferl, both practicing the harpsichord and violin many hours ...Read Review

Death and the Maiden (Mistress of the Art of Death)

By Ariana Franklin - By Samantha Norman - Published 2020

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

Readers who adored the captivating Mistress of the Art of Death series written by Ariana Franklin (pen name of prolific historical novelist Diana ...Read Review

The Kitchen Front: A Novel

By Jennifer Ryan - Published 2021

Genres:

Saga

This warm hug of a novel, by the author of The Chilbury Ladies Choir, depicts the power of community in the face of ...Read Review

The Dead of Winter

By S. J. Parris - Published 2020

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

Fans of Parris’s successful series of mysteries starring the Renaissance scholar and mystic Giordano Bruno will welcome this trio of stories exploring ...Read Review

The Unfinished Land

By Greg Bear - Published 2021

Genres:

Historical Fantasy

Bear is a celebrated fantasy/SF author who brings his considerable world-building skills to this alternative version of Renaissance England. The narrative begins ...Read Review

The Company Daughters

By Samantha Rajaram - Published 2020

Genres:

This radiant debut novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist and Girl with a Pearl Earring. Two young women of 1620s Amsterdam, ...Read Review

1 2 3 10