Karen Warren

The Spirit Engineer

By A. J. West - Published 2021


Set in Ireland between 1914 and 1920, The Spirit Engineer is based on the true story of William Jackson Crawford and his encounters with the ...Read Review

The Royal Secret

By Andrew Taylor - Published 2021



Set in London in 1670, The Royal Secret is the fourth of Andrew Taylor’s novels featuring James Marwood and Cat Hakesby. Marwood is ...Read Review

Secrets at Bletchley Park

By Margaret Dickinson - Published 2021


Secrets at Bletchley Park follows the lives of two very different women from the 1930s to the Second World War. Mattie, living in ...Read Review

The Rose Code

By Kate Quinn - Published 2021



The Rose Code is the story of an unlikely friendship between three very different women working at the Bletchley Park intelligence centre in ...Read Review

The Manningtree Witches

By A. K. BLAKEMORE - Published 2021


Set in England in 1643, The Manningtree Witches is based on the activities of Matthew Hopkins, the self-styled Witchfinder General. Told through the eyes ...Read Review

The Forgotten Gift

By Kathleen McGurl - Published 2021


The Forgotten Gift is a multi-period novel set in England. In the present day, Cassie is researching her family history, a quest that ...Read Review

A Beautiful Spy

By Rachel Hore - Published 2021


Set in London in the years before the Second World War, A Beautiful Spy is the story of Minnie Gray, a typist who ...Read Review

The Shape of Darkness

By Laura Purcell - Published 2021



Set in the city of Bath in the 19th century, The Shape of Darkness is a wonderfully tangled Gothic tale. It features Agnes, ...Read Review

Before the Crown

By Flora Harding - Published 2020


Biographical Fiction

It is 1943, and the future Queen Elizabeth II of England is cooped up in Windsor Castle. She is frustrated at her inability to ...Read Review

The Last Protector (James Marwood & Cat Lovett, Book 4)

By Andrew Taylor - Published 2020


The Last Protector is the fourth book in a series featuring James Marwood, a clerk at the centre of government, and Cat Hakesby, ...Read Review