Iris and Ruby

By Rosie Thomas - Published 2006Published 2016


After a lifetime of independent living, Dr. Iris Black finds that she is losing herself to dementia. In her solitude, she is lovingly ...Read Review

The Summer Guest

By Alison Anderson - Published 2016


Ukraine, late 1880s: Zinaida Lintvaryova is an educated woman planning to live her life helping others as a country doctor, but at 30 years ...Read Review

The Stopped Heart

By Julie Myerson - Published 2016



Mary and Graham Coles, attempting to rebuild after a tragedy, move into a cottage in a small English village. Mary, gripped by soul-destroying ...Read Review

The Evening Spider

By Emily Arsenault - Published 2016



Based on publicized 19th-century New England murder trials, The Evening Spider is the first foray into the supernatural by noted psychological suspense author ...Read Review

The Attempt

By Alex Zucker (trans.) - By Magdaléna Platzová - Published 2016



The English edition of Czech author Platzová’s latest novel is a condensed and masterful example of experimental literary fiction with historical roots: ...Read Review

And After the Fire

By Lauren Belfer - Published 2016


Spanning centuries, this latest novel from Belfer (A Fierce Radiance, City of Light) is her most compelling yet. It is grounded in the ...Read Review

The Lost Soldier

By Diney Costeloe - Published 2016


The story begins in Dorset in 1921. Eight ash trees have been planted on a village green to commemorate eight men who died in ...Read Review

Sleeping Embers of an Ordinary Mind

By Anne Charnock - Published 2015


Charnock’s novel tells three parallel stories, one set in the past, one in the present, and one in the future. In 15th-century ...Read Review

The Return of the Witch

By Paula Brackston - Published 2016



This dual-viewpoint sequel to The Witch’s Daughter picks up five years after the first novel ended. Tegan has just returned from a ...Read Review


By Rebecca Hunt - Published 2015



This is an absorbing dual-time-period adventure novel. In 2013, a three-member crew sets out for Everland, an Antarctic island, retracing the steps of another ...Read Review