Historical American Revolution Fiction Reviews

Test

Into the Valley

By Rosanne Bittner - Published 2003

Genres:

RomanceSaga

This second novel in Rosanne Bittner’s Westward America series (after Into the Wilderness) carries the reader back to the turbulent days of ...Read Review

The Private Revolution of Geoffrey Frost

By J.E. Fender - Published 2002

Genres:

AdventureNautical

Fans of Patrick O’Brian and C.S. Forester will find much to admire in this historical novel, set in 1776 on the coast ...Read Review

Between Two Fires

By Nicholas Nicastro - Published 2002

Genres:

Biographical FictionNauticalSaga

This second volume of a trilogy on the life of the American naval hero, John Paul Jones, starts with his commission to the ...Read Review

Mount Vernon Love Story

By Mary Higgins Clark - Published 2002

Genres:

Biographical Fiction

Mary Higgins Clark, well known for her thrilling suspense novels, wrote a short novel years ago (original title: Aspire to the Heavens) based ...Read Review

The Glorious Cause

By Jeff Shaara - Published 2002

Genres:

Military

I couldn’t wait for this sequel to Rise to Rebellion; I knew it was going to be superb and was not disappointed. ...Read Review

For Love Or Country

By Kerrelyn Sparks - Published 2002

Genres:

Romance

Frothy as a syllabub, For Love or Country has a sparse texture with minimal description, except when it serves the character interplay. Sparks’ ...Read Review

The Linwoods, or “Sixty Years Since in America”

By Catharine Maria Sedgwick - Published 2002

Genres:

Saga

Readers of historical and classic fiction should welcome this new edition of an early woman novelist’s most highly-regarded work. A lengthy introduction ...Read Review

John’s Story

By Joan Lowery Nixon - Published 2001

Genres:

Children/Young Adult

Joan Lowery Nixon’s latest foray into the past for children is a charming story. The hero, young John Nicholas, is caught up ...Read Review

A Cold Bleak Hill: Prelude to Glory #5

By Ron Carter - Published 2001

Genres:

Military

During the summer of 1777, recurring series character Caleb Dunson is a member of General Washington’s underfunded, poorly-trained Continental Army. After the costly ...Read Review

Fiery Cross

By Diana Gabaldon - Published 2001

Genres:

RomanceSagaTime-slip

In the fifth book in Gabaldon’s popular ‘Outlander’ series, we find Claire and Jamie Fraser, their daughter Brianna, her husband Roger and ...Read Review