The HNS seeks to support writers of new historical fiction by the HNS International Awards – a series of competitions for previously unpublished short stories and novels.

In addition, the HNS Indie Award, first offered in 2014, recognizes excellence in indie-published historical novels.

2015/16 Award, for a new novel

The 2015/16 Historical Novel Society International Award, with a prize of £2000 (or $3000 US), is for an outstanding unpublished or self-published novel.

Our judges for 2015 were Katie Bond, Juliet Mushens and Jon Watt. Our winner was Cam Terwilliger. One of our runners up, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott, has just signed a 6-figure deal with Hutchinson to publish her debut Swan Song.

The 2013 Award was won by Martin Sutton for Lost Paradise. He subsequently won the Winstone Graham Prize 2016 after the novel was published by the Historical Novel Society.

2016 and 2017 Indie Award

The HNS Indie Award 2016 was presented at HNS Oxford 2016 to Bloodie Bones by Lucienne Boyce and Fossil Island by Barbara Sjoholm (joint winners).

View the rules for the HNS Indie Award 2016 and 2017.  See also our pages for the longlisted titles for 2016 and the shortlisted titles and winners.

2015 Indie Award

The HNS Indie Award 2015 was presented at HNS Denver 2015. See a list of the winners, shortlist, and longlist for 2015.

Our thanks to sponsors Geraldine Clouston of Indie B.R.A.G. and author Orna Ross, and judges Viviane Crystal and Amy Bruno.

2014 Indie Award

The winner of the 2014 HNS Indie Award is:

The Subtlest Soul, by Virginia Cox

The runner-up is A Gift for the Magus, by Linda Proud.  Additional finalists were Jacobites’ Apprentice by David Ebsworth and Samoa by J. Robert Shaffer.  For more details, see our page for the 2014 HNS Indie Award Shortlist, Finalists, and Winners.

Submissions for the Historical Novel Society Indie Award are selected from novels written in the English language and submitted to the Historical Novel Society for Indie Review.

Thank you to our 2014 judges, Orna Ross and Elizabeth Chadwick.

2014 Award, for an outstanding short story

The winner of the 2014 Historical Novel Society International Award is:

The House of Wild Beasts, by Anne Aylor

The two runners-up are:

2nd place: Souvenirs from Kiev, by Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger

3rd place: Cutthroat, by Katrina Carrasco

The long list of 30 stories and short list of 10 are linked here.

Many thanks to judges Ian Skillicorn, Emma Darwin and Stephanie Bowen for choosing our winners!

Martin Sutton, 2013 winner of the inaugural HNS international Award

Martin Sutton, 2013 winner of the inaugural HNS international Award

2013 Award, for an unpublished novel

The inaugural 2013 Historical Novel Society International Award, with a prize of £5,000, was for an unpublished novel. It was open to both published and unpublished writers, but was won by British debutant Martin Sutton for his novel Lost Paradise.

Richard Lee of the Historical Novel Society described Sutton as “a genuine bona fide discovery”, calling Lost Paradise “a lyrical war story, a yearning, poignant love story, a book with the biggest themes that grips and pulls but can also make you smile.”

Lost Paradise tells of William Pascoe, a young gardener on the Heligan estate in Cornwall, who is wrenched away from a blossoming but difficult romance to fight at the front on the Somme.

Lee’s enthusiasm was echoed by W H Smith Travel fiction buyer Matthew Bates, who called Lost Paradise a “haunting, generational novel of war, love, secrets and lies…with the scope of, say, a Kate Morton.”