Tracey Warr

About me

I am a writer and art historian based in Wales and France. My first novel, Almodis the Peaceweaver (Impress Books, 2011, ISBN 9781907605055), is set in 11th century Toulouse and Barcelona and tells the story of the Occitan female lord, Almodis of La Marche. It was shortlisted for the Impress Prize and the Rome Film Festival Book Initiative. It received a Santander Research Award.

My second novel, The Viking Hostage (Impress Books, 2014, ISBN 9781907605598) is set in 10th century France and Wales. Like my first novel, it is based on real historical characters and incidents. The story springs from the kidnap of a French noblewoman on the night before her wedding, during a Viking raid of an island monastery.

I am one of the founders of the Ifanca Helene James Short Story Competitition

I also write about contemporary artists and I am a keen historical fiction reader.

From my website

The Viking Hostage – new review

Very nice review of The Viking Hostage just published on The Cosy Reader Filed under: Blog Tagged: books, historical fiction, vikings

Living in Greece

My interview with Marjory McGinn has just been published by The Displaced Nation. She talks about her experiences of living in Greece which inspired her memoir trilogy, culminating in A Scorpion in the Lemon Tree. For a chance of a free book read the interview.Filed under: Blog Tagged: books, expats,…

Conquest – new book cover

The cover of my new historical novel, Conquest: Daughter of the Last King. The book will be published by Impress Books on 1st October. This is the first novel in a trilogy, telling the story of Nest ferch Rhys who was the daughter of the last independent Welsh king during…

Share this member