Marie Burton

About me

I am a Historical Fiction Addict like you =) I am a wife, mom of two youngsters, and I work full-time as a bookkeeper near Dallas, Texas. I do hoard many books at home, too.
I write reviews at www.BurtonBookReview.com, which has been online since December 2008. You can find 186 book reviews online (and counting!), primarily HF. I also enjoy historical Christian fiction and historical romance. My favorite HF novel incorporates romance, inspiration, history and even a dash of mystery.

The reviews I have written for the HNS can be found at https://historicalnovelsociety.org/reviewer/marie-burton/

You can also find me co-hosting the Historical Fiction Connection site at HF-Connection.com, where we invite all of you to guest blog for us.

Some of my favorite authors include Elizabeth Chadwick, Sharon Kay Penman and Georgette Heyer. I am pleased to say I have finally gone a month without reading something Tudor related.

Someday I’ll be a writer, but that is still a pipe dream!

From my website

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid Washington Square Press (June 13, 2017)borrowed from the library In this entrancing novel “that speaks to the Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor in us all” (Kirkus Reviews), a legendary film actress reflects on her relentless rise to the top and…

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

Before We Were Yours by Lisa WingateHardcover, 342 pagesPublished June 6th 2017 by Ballantine Booksborrowed from local libraryTwo families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and…

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

The Forgotten Garden by Kate MortonPublished February 16th 2010 by Washington Square Press (first published 2008)personal library purchaseReview of The Lake House by Kate Morton can be found hereA tiny girl is abandoned on a ship headed for Australia in 1913. She arrives completely alone with nothing but a small…

 
Share this member