Kathleen Cunningham Guler

About me

Kathleen Cunningham Guler is the author of the four-part Macsen’s Treasure series of historical spy thrillers set in fifth century Britain. Her most recent book in the series, “A Land Beyond Ravens,” won the 2010 Colorado Book Award and the 2010 National Indie Excellence Award, both in the historical fiction category. The series’ other books include “Into the Path of Gods,” “In the Shadow of Dragons” and “The Anvil Stone.” Kathleen has also published numerous articles, essays, short stories, reviews and poems. Beside being a member of the Historical Novel Society, she is also involved in the International Arthurian Society. In November 2014 she completed a Masters degree in history, graduating with honors. She is working on her fifth novel.

From my website

In honor of Women's History Month, here is a link to my friend Gillian Polack's blog, she has posted a guest article I wrote for her.http://gillpolack.livejournal.com/1267354.html


During a talk a few years ago, Elizabeth Strout, the Pulitzer Prize winning author of the book OliveKitteridge, mentioned the word “recrudescence.” According to the Oxford English Dictionary this means, “The state or fact of breaking out afresh.” Sometimes it is applied to the state of something bad like an…

A Lovely New Review from Steamboat Magazine

.Widely recognized for her multi-award winning “Macsen’s Treasure” series, Kathleen Cunningham Guler reintroduces readers to its beginnings.Combining legend and actual history of fifth century Britain, Guler brings to life the pre-Arthurian time of 459 AD. With every chapter, an awakening sense of place, time and culture engages the reader, and the emotional…

Share this member