Glen Craney

About me

Glen Craney is a novelist, screenwriter, and journalist. He holds graduate degrees from Indiana University School of Law and Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. He practiced trial law before joining the Washington, D.C. press corps to cover national politics and the Iran-contra trial for Congressional Quarterly magazine. In 1996, the Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Sciences awarded him the Nicholl Fellowship prize for best new screenwriting. He is a three-time finalist for the Foreword Reviews Book-of-the-Year Award, a Chaucer Award First-Place Winner, and a two-time indieBRAG Medallion honoree. His debut historical novel, The Fire and the Light, was honored as Best New Fiction by the National Indie Excellence Awards. His books have taken readers to Occitania during the Albigensian Crusade, to the Scotland of Robert Bruce, to Portugal during the Age of Discovery, to the trenches of France during World War I, and to the American Hoovervilles of the Great Depression.

From my website

THE VIRGIN OF THE WIND ROSE wins an indieBRAG Medallion

IndieBRAG, the respected champion and arbiter of quality indie publishing, has honored Glen Craney’s The Virgin of the Wind Rose as its most recent winner of the coveted Medallion award. IndieBRAG judges are highly selective and must unanimously agree on a selection after conducting a months-long, rigorous assessment of submissions.…

2017 HNS Conference Panel on WWI Historical Fiction

I’ll be participating at this year’s Historical Novel Society North American Conference on a panel discussion: New Historical Fiction on the War to End All Wars. The session will help kick off the popular conference on Friday, June 23, at 8:00 am. Other panel members will include fellow authors Jennifer…

Books & Benches Magazine Names The Virgin of the Wind Rose a 2017 Scéal Book Award Finalist

Review magazine Books & Benches has honored The Virgin of the Wind Rose: A Christopher Columbus Mystery-Thriller as one of four finalists for its Book-of-the-Year Award in the Mystery-Thriller category. Winners will be announced the first week of April. More about the award can be found here.

Share this member