20th Century

Quiet Dell

By Jayne Anne Philips - Published 2013

Genres:

Mystery/Crime

The real-life murders perpetrated in the small West Virginian town of Quiet Dell are lovingly coaxed to life by Jayne Anne Phillips. The ...Read Review

The Governess of Highland Hall

By Carrie Turansky - Published 2013

Genres:

Romance

It’s 1911, and Julia Foster is back in England after 12 years of missionary work with her parents in India. Her father’s illness ...Read Review

The Open Arms of the Sea

By Jasper Dorgan - Published 2013

Genres:

I nearly forwarded The Open Arms of the Sea to one of my UK Indie Review Team, but I decided to read it ...Read Review

Small Town Girl

By Ann H. Gabhart - Published 2013

Genres:

InspirationalSaga

In Small Town Girl, Gabhart returns to the Merritt family (Angel Sister, 2010). It is 1941, and the three oldest sisters are falling in love. ...Read Review

Scent of Butterflies

By Dora Levy Mossanen - Published 2013

Genres:

One need not dive far back into history to begin the story of Soraya, heroine of Scent of Butterflies. It is 1999 in Iran ...Read Review

The Secret Knowledge

By Andrew Crumey - Published 2013

Genres:

Literary

Whether this qualifies as historical fiction is a moot point: it’s set in multiple pasts, multiverses, spanning the 20th century, from 1913 Paris ...Read Review

Bonzo’s War

By Clare Campbell - Published 2013

Genres:

Nonfiction

What was it like to be a domestic animal when the world was at war? This is a question posed by Clare Campbell, ...Read Review

The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells

By Andrew Sean Greer - Published 2013

Genres:

Fantasy

Following in the tradition of The Confessions of Max Tivoli, Andrew Sean Greer returns to a tale of the impossible and magical, set ...Read Review

Tapestry

By J. Robert Janes - Published 2013

Genres:

Mystery/CrimeThriller

Jean-Louis St-Cyr and Hermann Kohler make up the intriguing duo of detectives fighting everyday crime in Paris during the German occupation. Brutal assaults ...Read Review

Under the Hawthorn Tree

By Ai Mi - Published 2011

Genres:

Romance

This novel first appeared on the pseudonymous author’s website in 2007, sold millions of copies, has been filmed, and is now available in ...Read Review