18th Century

Seraglio

By Janet Wallach - Published 2003

Genres:

Biographical FictionEpic

In 1788, Algerian pirates kidnapped Aimée du Buc de Rivery, a thirteen-year-old girl on her way home to Martinique from school in France. ...Read Review

Into the Valley

By Rosanne Bittner - Published 2003

Genres:

RomanceSaga

This second novel in Rosanne Bittner’s Westward America series (after Into the Wilderness) carries the reader back to the turbulent days of ...Read Review

Sparrowhawk: Book Two, Hugh Kenrick

By Edward Cline - Published 2002

Genres:

Adventure

In this second novel of a series, the reader is introduced to Hugh Kenrick, a young man born into high society – but this ...Read Review

The Private Revolution of Geoffrey Frost

By J.E. Fender - Published 2002

Genres:

AdventureNautical

Fans of Patrick O’Brian and C.S. Forester will find much to admire in this historical novel, set in 1776 on the coast ...Read Review

Between Two Fires

By Nicholas Nicastro - Published 2002

Genres:

Biographical FictionNauticalSaga

This second volume of a trilogy on the life of the American naval hero, John Paul Jones, starts with his commission to the ...Read Review

Touch and Go

By C. Northcote Parkinson - Published 2003

Genres:

AdventureNautical

Parkinson’s Richard Delancey has been promoted to command H.M.S. Merlin in his fourth adventure of the series. Delancey serves in 1799 ...Read Review

Leonora: Tulips in Winter

By Regina Pounds - Published 2002

Genres:

Romance

In 1788, a feisty English damsel named Leonora encounters two Russian noblemen in France, and then in the Duchy of Nassau. One of the ...Read Review

Mount Vernon Love Story

By Mary Higgins Clark - Published 2002

Genres:

Biographical Fiction

Mary Higgins Clark, well known for her thrilling suspense novels, wrote a short novel years ago (original title: Aspire to the Heavens) based ...Read Review

Wicked Lies

By Laura Renken - Published 2002

Genres:

Mystery/CrimeRomance

Historical romances taking place during America’s colonial era are relatively scarce. American readers seem to prefer medieval Scotland and Regency England, or ...Read Review

Three Cuts of Courage

By Lynn M. Turner - Published 2002

Genres:

AdventureRomance

Nell Fraser and her brother board a ship to the New World to avoid capture after she rescues him from a Scottish prison. ...Read Review