The Source

By

Ross Kelly, geologist, is elbowed out of the oil business just as his pregnant wife Lauren announces that she has managed to translate much of the ancient and mysterious Voynich manuscript. Her triumph turns into a nightmare as it becomes clear that someone does not want the secrets of the Voynich made public.

Lauren is attacked and lies at the point of death. Convinced that the only hope for her lies in the strange and fabulous garden described in the manuscript, Kelly sets off for the Amazon with an unlikely group of companions. Pitted against them are a power-crazed Vatican official, a hit man and a group of trained soldiers – not to mention the dangers of the jungle itself.

This is a novel in the tradition of The Da Vinci Code and Indiana Jones, full of action although sometimes at the expense of depth. Cordy has mastered the art of the cliffhanger, and despite the feeling that I’d read this sort of thing before, I found the twists of the plot kept me turning the pages. Great for adventure fans, who will not be surprised to learn that movie rights have been sold.

 

 

Share this review

Buy "The Beggar at the Gate & Other Stories" for £2.05 (Kindle edition)

12 of the best stories selected from the 2012 Historical Novel Society Short Story Award

Details

Publisher

Published

Genre

Century

Price
(UK) £11.99

ISBN
(UK) 9780593061107

Format
Paperback

Pages
364

Review

Appeared in

Reviewed by