A Divided Command

By

Lieutenant John Pearce – he of the unorthodox career, from illegally pressed seaman to officer – is back for his tenth adventure. With a talent for making powerful enemies, much yet to learn about the ways of the Navy, and a married mistress to keep safe, Pearce has his hands more than full – and neither his interesting past nor the dislike of many of his peers are much help. It will take all his pluck, and the assistance of some good friends, to juggle war against Revolutionary France, a duel, Barbary corsairs, the lovely and stubborn Emily, scheming admirals, and vast amounts of intrigue. David Donachie delivers yet another fun and fast naval yarn in the tradition of Forster and O’Brian, with the added interest of a hero struggling with his not-exactly-chosen career, and lots of fascinating insight on the workings of the Mediterranean Fleet in the 1790s.

Share this review

Now available to buy on Kindle

Award-winning novel of the Great War.

Details

Online Exclusive

Publisher

Published

Genre
,

Period

Century

Price
(UK) £19.99

ISBN
(UK) 9780749014254

Format
Hardback

Pages
319

Review

Appeared in

Reviewed by